February 22, 2010

Wait… Where am I going again?

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , at 10:06 pm by eddejae

I’ve got to say, this virus is really kicking my butt! Headache, fever, sore throat, cold… Recipe for misery right there!

But after resting most of the day, I am finally starting to feel better. I’m looking forward to feeling at least 80-90% tomorrow (here’s hoping) and being able to get back to work on my goals. I just realized something though. Not only do I have trouble setting realistic, attainable goals (as I pointed out in my Saturday post), but also in formulating specific goals and writing them down.

I realized this while I was trying to decide on what to write about today. I was feeling a little uninspired so I asked my mom to pitch me some ideas. Her response was, “Well, what are your goals?” I realized that all I could really say was “Umm… good question! Just get healthy I guess.” Good goal, but pretty vague, don’t you think? So I started pondering on what “being healthy” looks like for me. What exactly am I trying to attain? How do I define “healthy” and in what areas?

Dennis Waitley (motivational speaker/writer) gave a pretty good outline for the goal-setting process that I would like to follow. He said “The secret to productive goal setting is in establishing clearly defined goals, writing them down and then focusing on them several times a day with words, pictures and emotions as if we’ve already achieved them.”

Once I’ve settled on a “picture” of what I’m trying to attain and then breaking long-term goals down into specific, short-term goals, the next step is to write them all down. This will be my main project tomorrow –taking time to sit down and really figure out what I’m specifically trying to accomplish during the healing process and who I want to become.

With my goals put into words, the next step is “focusing on them several times a day with words, pictures and emotions as if [I’ve] already achieved them.” The first part of this is fairly simple – I will type them up and put them somewhere I can see them frequently, like above my desk and on the bathroom mirror (and here, of course). It’s the last part of Waitley’s statement that seems a bit trickier “… with words, pictures, and emotions as if we’ve already achieved them.” Hmm. I guess this idea here could be that “You become what you think about.” If I envision myself already achieving my goals, and try to feel the positive emotions associated with the achievement of those ideals, the better my progress will be and the more motivated I will feel to stick to the plan. I could also incorporate my music and artwork into this, surrounding myself with positive and creative influences that will help keep me on track. For example, decorating my mirror with inspiring quotes, or listening to motivating music—anything that will encourage me to keep on going.

I also came across a site with some tips on writing goals that I found pretty helpful: http://www.goal-setting-guide.com/writing-goal.html). To summarize:

1)      Write your goal in the positive.

2)      Write your goals out in complete detail.

3)      Write in the present tense as if they are currently true (Goes right along with Waitley’s quote!)

4)      Re-write your goals – words written repeatedly and rephrased have maximum impact.

Until tomorrow…..

2 Comments »

  1. hopeseguin said,

    God bless you as you ‘fall forward’ . . .

    May your strength and resolve increase . . . and may you know grace-filled days.


Leave a Reply

