February 23, 2010

The Plan

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 6:54 pm by eddejae

As follow-up to yesterday’s post, I sat down today and wrote out the qualities of the person I want to become in the following areas: physical, spiritual, emotional, social, and intellectual. These qualities/characteristics (in bold) are my “long-term” goals, with bullet points underneath that constitute my short-term goals. My plan is to choose three short-term goals at a time to work on (each from a different area). Once I feel I have mastered those, I will move on to three more, and so on (while continuing to work on the previous three goals of course). Many of these short-term goals will actually wind up breaking down into even more specific, daily, “bite-sized” tasks.

Physical

1) Fit, toned, healthy and vibrant

  • Stick to exercise and nutrition program to achieve weight loss goal and maintain a healthy lifestyle
  • Engage in enjoyable physical activities such as biking, dancing, rollerblading, hiking
  • Get at least 8 hours of sleep a night, going to bed and waking up at the same time every day

2) Well-groomed with a unique personal style

  • Treat myself to a “make-over” (new hair style, facial, manicure, etc)
  • Go through wardrobe and throw out baggy/unflattering clothes
  • Shop for new clothes when I have the funds

Spiritual

1) Develops relationship with God and nourishes faith daily

  • Daily scripture study and prayer, and weekly church attendance
  • Journaling thoughts and impressions
  • Get involved in church-related activities

2) Is confident in sharing faith and God’s love with others

  • Pray for opportunities to love others and be a positive influence in their lives

Emotional

1) Able to use healthy coping skills to deal with stress

  • Attend weekly therapy sessions and work on applying skills discussed
  • Read assigned therapy materials

2) Sets healthy boundaries

  • Practice assertiveness and saying “no”

3) Able to love others and share myself with them appropriately

  • Be a good friend but don’t let allow people to drain my energy

4) Is honest and open with self and others

  • Be true to myself in social situations (not doing/saying what I think others want me to)
  • Saying what I mean and meaning what I say

5) Has respect for self and high self-esteem

  • Practice standing up for myself and not letting others take advantage of me
  • Be my own best friend (positive self-talk and refraining from self-destructive behaviors)

Social

1) Makes plans with friends and follows through

  • Make an effort to get together with friends (instead of isolating)

2) Is comfortable in group settings

  • Gradually get to the point where I can go to dances and parties without being overwhelmed

3) Spends time with family (put family first)

  • Be sure to spend time with each family member and be a positive example for my siblings

4) Is involved in volunteering

  • Find a program to volunteer with once a week

Intellectual

1) Constantly develops mind

  • Tackle my reading list
  • Learn something new every day
  • Take classes

2) Develops talents and shares them with others

  • Practice my piano and singing
  • Work on my music writing
  • Overcome nervousness by practicing performing for others

Two of the above goals are kind of over-arching goals that I will be constantly focusing on, in addition to the two other goals that will eventually be switched out once they are mastered:

1) Stick to exercise and nutrition program to achieve weight loss goal and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

2) Attend weekly therapy sessions and work on applying skills discussed.

I will talk more in depth about the other three goals I’ve chosen tomorrow. And just so y’all know… not EVERY post is going to be about my goals or my progress towards them… It’s just my main focus these last few days. Once I kind of get in the swing of things, more of my posts will be about my thoughts, feelings, and experiences as I work through therapy and adjust to my new life in recovery. However, setting goals is an essential part of my journey, so it’s a good beginning.

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”…

Leave a Reply

