March 4, 2010

Pain Stayed So Long

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , at 10:49 pm by eddejae

Pain stayed so long
I said to him today,
“I will not have you with me anymore
And paused there startled at the look he wore.
“I who have been your friend,”
he said to me, “I who have been your teacher
–all that you know of understanding love,
of sympathy and patience,
I have taught you.
Shall I go?”
He spoke the truth,
this strange unwelcome guest;
I watched him leave and knew that he was wise.
He left a heart grown tender in my breast.
He left a far, clear vision in my eyes.
I dried my tears, and lifted up a song
Even for one who’d tortured me so long.
~Anonymous

4 Comments »

  1. Velska said,

    Pain can be devastating and destructive, and it can be ennobling; so much depends on ourselves. It’s not whether or not we have pain, it’s how we deal with it.

    It’s difficult, but we must face it. And I just read, that our brain is like a muscle, in reality. Even an adult’s brain can develop new connections when we make an effort to learn new ways of thinking etc–not like a growing brain, but still.

    I love this little description; it always makes me shed a few tears. I live with chronic pain, and I medicate it a couple of times a week, but I also want to experience it fully, so I know where we are going. It is a bit like lifting weights–no pain, no gain!

    Hang on in there!

  2. Aimeanna said,

    Amen. Absolutely- Amen.

  3. emil lehenbauer said,

    My son died ~ Jerking and shaking because they decided he was a druggie ~ bi Polar ,anxiety, panic attacks. I love this poem as it has helped me through much pain ~ like to think that I agreed with Father in Heaven before coming to Mortality to take on such things.

    • Edde Jae said,

      I am so very sorry about your son. I have faith everything happens for a reason, though we may not understand that reason in this lifetime. God bless and keep you, my friend.


Leave a Reply

