March 16, 2010

Being Good to Myself – A Photo Journal

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 7:54 pm by eddejae

Today I decided to be extra nice to myself… Not something I’m accustomed to doing! I was in a picture-taking mood so I decided to photo-document my day.

I took a long, relaxing shower. After days of not being able to smell anything due to my cold (which I am finally recovering from!), I reveled in the delicious fragrance of my cherry-almond body wash.

I painted my toenails my favorite color (a bit sloppily lol).

I played with my kitten, Fiyero. Next to socks, suspenders are his favorite play-thing. I call him “Bionic Kitty” because he will jump at least five feet from the ground to catch a dangling sock.

I took an invigorating walk in the sunshine. Here are some of the things I saw:

This is the tree outside my house. I can’t even remember the last time I sat on that bench…

My sister made fun of me for taking a picture of a fire hydrant. But I thought it looked picturesque! Lol.

This mailbox made me laugh. I wonder if the person who lives here is a bus driver?

Bambi’s mom LIVES!

This is my pet lily that I originally grew on top of the fireplace and is now on the porch enjoying the fresh air. My other cat, Oliver, just happened to be in the shot. I thought it was cute. (Don’t worry, I only have two cats… I’m not a crazy cat lady… YET. Lol)

I played the piano today.

And finally picked up my guitar that’s been sitting around for almost a year, and learned four chords: A, E, D, and G. I hear if I keep this up my fingers will blister…

I bought myself Odwalla Superfood Juice. Yes, it’s green. I know, sounds nasty, but it’s delicious… and REALLY good for you.

And I watched one of my all-time favorite movies, Juno.

So that’s how I took care of my body, mind, and spirit today. Go me! Ha 😛

6 Comments »

  1. tiffk1023 said,

    This was really awesome because we share a lot of the same interests! I’m obsessed with taking showers (like I take multiple a day because I have like ocd with cleanliness or something), I always have my nails painted (especially my fingernails or then I’ll bite them), I have two cats, I have 3 pots of orchids, I play the piano and the guitar, and I love Juno (I even bought a cheeseburger phone online!). Haha, so i really enjoyed reading this post, because it made me feel really relaxed and happy, and I just thought I would drop by and say that we have a lot in common :]

  2. Edde said,

    Ha that’s so cool!!! … And I am insanely jealous that you have a cheeseburger phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. Lillie said,

    This was awesome Edde! I love the photos you took. I love the long grass photographed by the bench. Loved seeing you share how you are taking care of yourself!!!

  4. Zammity said,

    Your fingers will only blister when playing the guitar if you do too much at a time. Gradual practice will cause calluses to grow on your finger tips and allow you to play for hours on end! So much fun!

  5. Wow, I was surprised to see that everything except the cat reminds me of myself.


Leave a Reply

