March 29, 2010

A Day of Mindfulness

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , at 6:38 pm by eddejae

Today I decided to practice the DBT skill of “One-Mindfully” or “Mindfulness,” which has to do with focusing on what we are experiencing in the here and now. It’s a skill I’d like to apply more often, as I tend to multi-task and my thoughts continually bounce from one thing to another. So in everything I did today, I made an effort to focus on what I was seeing, hearing, smelling, tasting, and feeling….

SIGHT

I noticed the rain clouds drifting in…

I appreciated the energizing brilliance of the candy apple red nail polish I bought…

And looked for my favorite orange wildflowers on the side of the road…

SOUND

I heard the wind whistling through the trees…

The clinking of silverware in the restaurant…

And listened to my favorite songs on my ipod…

SMELL

I loved the scent (and taste!) of my new pina colada flavored lip gloss…

Of my Herbal Essences shampoo…

And the promise of rain in the air…

TASTE

I enjoyed the delightful flavors of my pear and candied pecan salad…

The creamy sweetness of my Skinny Cow ice cream…

And the refreshing fizziness of my Diet Pepsi…

TOUCH

This morning instead of blow-drying my hair, I scrunched it and put it in a ponytail. It felt light and cool on my neck…

I pet my kittens’ incredibly soft fur coat…

And as the storm began to roll in, cuddled up with a warm flannel blanket…

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, worry about the future, or anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly.” ~Buddha

4 Comments »

  1. Stacy said,

    Thank you for sharing all that and the visuals. I think I actually feel more mindful just reading through it!

  2. Lillie said,

    I so love what you did Edde! You did a fabulous job being one-mindfully. I have to practice it lots intentionally. I love us blogging and using pictures. I think it helps express what we are feeling/seeing or whatever else in the moment that captures and expresses what we need to convey. Using our words is a great way to communicate…even in my scary post today. As scary as it was, I know that if I let it out in the open it wouldn’t be a dark secret that could intervene with how I live in the moment or could help Tien.

    • Edde said,

      That’s what I love about blogging… Just letting things out, expressing them through words or visuals or music… They seem less scary and more manageable that way.

  3. Sarah said,

    That was awesome! Thank you! I am going to try and see what I see and feel and try just be in the moment!

    Take care !

    Sarah


Leave a Reply

