April 1, 2010

Why Do We Fall?

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , at 11:20 am by eddejae

This is a scene from one of my favorite movies, Batman Begins. (As a side note, Batman is my favorite superhero for several reasons, which I will not get into now but I guarantee will be the subject of a future post… Yes, yes, I am a nerd.)

Why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.

I’ve been in a major slump these last couple of days, and getting out of bed this morning was a battle. Ultimately, I decided I couldn’t go another day feeling so low and that I was going to fight it. Pick myself up as best I can and make this a “fall forward.”

So today is going to be a day of “damage control” – emotionally, physically, mentally. I’m fighting for my very sense of self and everything I have worked for. I’ve come so far, and I need to move on beyond my relapse and learn from it. Make it work for my benefit.

I plan to report back tonight. I think that going through the day knowing that at the end of it I will have to be accountable will keep me motivated.

Will I be wanting the Batpod?…

… Yes. Yes I will.

5 Comments »

  1. ivypixi said,

    Yes, you will. Know that you are not alone. I will be struggling with you.

  2. I don’t know why, but when I read your blog I thought of this. I hope you get a good laugh 😉

    • Edde said,

      HAHAHAHA I love it! You pretty much rock lol!

    • Edde said,

      P.S. This totally reminded me of when I played a nun in the musical comedy “Nunsense” lol…

  3. Jen said,

    You go girl. Good for you.


Leave a Reply

