April 4, 2010

An Unexpected Adventure

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 9:43 pm by eddejae

My brother and I decided to go for a walk in the rain.

As we were walking along, the rain gently falling, my brother said “Hey, I know of this awesome trail. Let’s go!” Thirsty for some novelty, I agreed, but the spontaneous detour turned out to be more than I had bargained for…

What was supposed to be a leisurely after-dinner walk turned into an exhausting 2 1/2 hour hike through rain, wind, and mud…

There were quite a few highlights along the way however… Like the bright green moss on the trees…

We came to a wooden bridge across a creek. A sign said “Closed for Restoration.”  We pretended not to see it…

But we made it safely across (though a few of the wooden planks were a bit wobbly…)

At some parts of the trail we had a magnificent view of the lake…

The wind through the trees sounded like ocean waves…

We came across a decaying hollow tree that had been struck by lightning…

After a couple hours, my legs started to ache…

I was so cold I couldn’t feel my face or hands, and my feet sloshed around in my shoes.

The wind and rain picked up, and it started to get dark…

Luckily, we came across a shortcut, or we would have been walking another hour in the dark. When we finally got home, my brother said “Well, you said you wanted an adventure!” I gave him a hearty punch in the arm.

I was completely soaked from head to toe. I looked like a kitten pulled from a well…

Or, uh, maybe more like this one…

It was so nice to change into warm, dry clothes and enjoy a piece of my mom’s peach cobbler…

Although our little “adventure” was long, and wet, and muddy, and freezing, and completely insane…

I think that somehow, in the end…

..It was exactly what I needed.

2 Comments »

  1. ivypixi said,

    I am actually a little jealous. Especially about the peach cobbler.

    • Edde said,

      Come on over! I saved a piece for you! hahaha 😛


Leave a Reply

