May 5, 2010

Drum Roll Please!

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , at 11:00 pm by eddejae

Ok everyone. I promised to break the big news today. So here goes!…

I’m engaged!!!! That’s right! Better believe it!

And how did this miracle come about? How have I arrived at the point where I could welcome such an event with open arms, without fear and trepidation? How am I letting this happen although my “ideal” and “perfect” version of Edde, the only version of “me” I think ever deserves anything good, does not exist?? Why am I letting a dream come true even though everything isn’t perfect, I still have struggles, and nothing is really turning out exactly the way I always thought it would (yet somehow I’m ok with that)?? Details and explanations and quite likely much more soliloquizing than is warranted will commence tomorrow evening. I think I’m coming down with the flu so I’m off to get some much needed rest.

Goodnight my dear readers!

7 Comments »

  1. Suzie Q Breaks said,

    Congratulations, I am very happy for you! My partner has DID and we are able to have a beautiful life together. We have challanges, marriage is not an easy path for anyone. Suzie and most of her Parts are welcoming and care about me and our relationship. Her trouble Parts (trouble to her, not really me) are simply skeptical and still withold judgement. Communication is the key, especially for me to avoid as many triggers as possible. They still happen, though and Suzie has learned I am far from perfect! I listen and try to learn and she has come to trust most of my instincts. Love is our foundation, hope is our glue, respect a daily task and communication the fuel to keep it all alive. Marriage works IF you BOTH work, at it, and for it.

    • Edde said,

      That is so beautiful. It just goes to show that love can conquer anything and get you through the greatest struggles. Todd, my fiancee, has endured six years of “on again, off again” – me constantly pushing him away, throwing temper tantrums, running away, etc… And yet has loved me through it all. I am so happy that I’m finally at a healthy place where I can love him the way he loves me and fully appreciate him. He accepts me for exactly who I am, and I am so grateful for that. I know the road won’t be easy, but it will be full of love – and that makes it worth it. 🙂

  2. ivypixi said,

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading your next post.

  3. Cassie said,

    Congrats on your engagement! Happy for you 🙂
    Take care,
    Cassie x

  4. bpdisme said,

    Congratulations! I’m so happy to hear of this wonderful news! 😀 *Hugs*

  5. stacy said,

    That’s so exciting! I look forward to hearing more about it. Hope you get to feeling better too.

  6. Ugly Shoelace said,

    Congratulations 🙂 and All the best.


Leave a Reply

