May 12, 2010

Movers and Shakers

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , at 11:55 am by eddejae

Last night, my brother asked a question that I myself have asked many times.

I’m sure many of you have asked this same question as well.

Or ..maybe were afraid to ask, as was my brother, because you were afraid that people would misunderstand the meaning of your question, would judge the reason for your query.

The question is this…If I died tomorrow, what would people remember me for? What would they remember me as? A hero? A villain? Or would they forget me entirely? Have I done anything in my life that made the world a better place? Or has my life been merely a waste of space and energy?

My brother asked this question yesterday, and a wonderful friend to both of us responded with the profound and moving words of Arthur O’Shannesy, a British poet of the 19th century:

We are the music makers,

And we are the dreamers of the dreams,

Wandering by lone sea-breakers,

And sitting by desolate streams; –

World-losers and world-forsakers,

On whom the pale moon gleams;

Yet we are the movers and shakers

Of the world for ever, it seems.

No matter who we are or what we’ve done in our lives, we are movers and shakers in some way or another. Our mere existence affects the world around us. The energy and vibration of our spirit affects our surroundings in a unique way no other being can.

Nothing you do lacks meaning or significance. Ever heard of the Butterfly Effect? It is the phenomenon whereby a small change at one place can have large effects elsewhere. For example, a butterfly flapping its wings in Rio de Janeiro might change the weather in Chicago.  “By small and simple things are great things brought to pass.” More often than not, we do not fully realize the far-reaching consequences of seemingly insignificant actions. “Movers and shakers” we are indeed.

…Especially my brother. He is definitely one of the most amazing people I know. Throughout all of his struggles, which are immense indeed, he radiates strength. Just being around him is a blessing. He has been there for me in my hour of greatest need. I really do not know what I would do without him. I know he has changed my life, and has changed the lives of many others, probably without even realizing it.

Jordan…

You are my hero.

2 Comments »

  1. Lydia Ridyard said,

    All thruth. When you see things that way, isn’t it imperative somehow to do as good as you possibly can ? 🙂


Leave a Reply

