May 22, 2010

Anything You Want to Say?…

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , at 2:40 pm by eddejae

More and more, I find that words are simply inadequate. As emotions become more complicated, as situations increase in their complexity, as life grows layer upon layer upon layer…

Words lose their power.

So I find myself turning to music and to art to express what I cannot say…

Fleeting images and sounds strung together impress upon the soul in an indelible way tongue-formed syllables never will…

I don’t give a damn about the castle on the hill,
All the gold that we could eat, or the horse you had for sale,
No I’m getting kinda rich on the side of any soul alive.
I don’t give a damn if I’m running from the law
When my moneys not enough and they come and take it all,
No I’m getting kinda rich on the side of any soul alive.


Have you heard the Mona Lisa
Have you heard who you are
You’re a new morning
You’re a new morning


Wanna be ok when I’m sitting here alone,

Not just thinking of the ways that I could have done it wrong,

No I’m getting kinda rich on the side of any soul alive.

Have you heard the Mona Lisa
Have you heard who you are
You’re a new moring
You’re a new morning
You’re a new morning


Now, you’re a new morning now
Have you heard my Mona Lisa
Have you heard who you are
You’re a new morning
You’re a new morning
You’re a new morning


Now, you’re a new morning now

3 Comments »

  1. Stacy said,

    I’m glad you do have ways that help you express yourself even when words don’t seem to be enough.

  2. Lillie said,

    When you think of the many different ways you can find self-expression in, you will then see how so many of them are like words…just maybe in a form of a line, stroke, movement or emotions of a song being sung.


Leave a Reply

