June 2, 2010

Lonely Wing

Posted in recovery tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 11:55 am by eddejae

A few nights ago, Todd and I stumbled upon an art gallery. Though I am not particularly gifted in the visual arts department (that is my mother’s strong point, not mine), I was raised with a deep appreciation for art and have a nostalgia for art galleries in general. So, naturally, upon spotting a gallery tucked away amongst antique stores and candy shoppes, I grabbed Todd by the shirt and dragged him through the door.

One painting in particular stood out to me – it evoked strong emotion and seemed to hold a deeper meaning that I couldn’t identify right then –  and I simply had to take a picture of it. Unfortunately I failed to take note of the painting’s title and maker, and my phone camera is of dismal low quality, but hopefully you get the idea.

I believe there are different ways you could interpret this depending on your point of view. It could be very sad… This poor angel has lost a wing and can no longer fly, so she hangs her head low in despair.

Or, she bows her head in prayer in humble recognition that she cannot go further on her own, that she requires divine help…

Or, perhaps, help from another angel…

Yesterday, a wonderful friend of mine sent me the following quote:

We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another.  ~Luciano de Crescenzo

Perhaps this angel girl is simply waiting for a friend. A friend who is also broken, also with just one wing, who can embrace her and together soar to great heights.

Perspective…

Can be everything.

11 Comments »

  1. sallyo said,

    Very nice post; I like the quote.

  2. Phoenix Avalone said,

    I loved this photo and quote that I needed to share it on my facebook. I hope you don’t object. It too evoked many emotions and I needed to share and hope that others comment on it. Thank you for allowing me to see a part of your soul that is healing.

  3. Debra said,

    So inspiring Edde Jae, I love it. We all need friends ❤

  4. Wayde said,

    Very insightful and loaded with thought. Can go so many directions with one picture. I like your direction.

  5. bpdisme said,

    This is beautiful. 🙂

  6. nohatna said,

    Hi Edde, I added your blog on my blogroll, I like your writing! Thanks

    • Edde said,

      Thank you! I will add yours as well 🙂

  7. Silly Girl said,

    Beautiful post! Love the quote and the picture!

  8. Lydia said,

    Wow, this is divinely beautiful. 🙂

  9. Stacy said,

    Truely this pic is one that could be interpreted in many ways. I like your friends quote and it seems to fit the picture well.


Leave a Reply

